zakat is a form of Islamic charity required of Muslims who meet certain wealth thresholds. It is considered one of the Five Pillars of Islam. Zakat calculator is calculated as a percentage of a person’s assets, including cash, investments, and property. The purpose of Zakat is to help those in need, such as the poor and orphans, and to purify one’s wealth.

Why is it Important?

Zakat is one of the Five Pillars of Islam. Zakat is an essential aspect of Islamic culture and is seen as a way to fulfil one’s religious obligations. while helping others. It is also considered a means of redistributing wealth just and equitably. Additionally, paying Zakat is believed to bring blessings and forgiveness from God.

Zakat is typically calculated as a percentage of a person’assets, including cash, investments, and property. The purpose of Zakat is to help those in need, such as the poor and orphans, and to purify one’s wealth.

When To Pay Zakat And Who Is Eligible

To be eligible Zakat, a person must be a Muslim and have a certain amount of wealth, known as Nisab, which is currently set at around $7,000. Zakat is typically paid annually on the Islamic calendar,  ramadan with many Muslims spend it during the month of Ramadan. It is calculated based on the value or the person’s assets on the day the Zakat is paid.

Who Is Eligible for Zakat?

Zakat is typically distributed to eligible recipients, known as “asnaf,” who are in need and considered deserving of the charity. These include:

  • The poor are individuals who do not have enough money to meet their basic needs and cannot support themselves.
  • Orphans: children who have lost one or both parents.
  • Those in debt: individuals who are unable to repay their debts due to financial hardship.
  • Wayfarers: travelers who are stranded and in need of financial assistance.
  • Those who are working in the way of Allah: for example, people involved in religious education, preaching, or providing other forms of support for the Islamic community.

The distribution of Zakat should be done in a fair and just manner, and it should reach the people who are in the most need.

Zakat Calculator : How Does It Work?

Zakat is typically calculated as 2.5% of a person’s assets, including cash, investments, and property. However, the calculation can vary based on the type of assets and the specific country or community a person is living in. zakat calculator, one must first determine the total value of their assets, including cash, investments, and property.  this amount is multiplied by 2.5% to determine the amount of Zakat that is owed.

Is Zakat al-Fitr Different from Zakat?

Yes, Zakat al-Fitr is different from the regular Zakat that Muslims are required to pay.

Zakat al-Fitr is a form of charity that is paid by Muslims at the end of the month of Ramadan, before the Eid al-Fitr (the festival that marks the end of Ramadan) prayer. The purpose of Zakat al-Fitr is to provide for those in need during the Eid festival and to help the poor and the needy participate in the celebration.

Zakat al-Fitr is typically paid on behalf of each member of a household, including children, and it is calculated based on a specific amount of food staples, such as wheat, barley, dates, or raisins. The amount is usually determined by local Islamic organizations or scholars.

On the other hand, the regular Zakat is based on the wealth a person possesses and is required to be paid annually by Muslims who meet the nisab threshold. The regular Zakat is calculated as 2.5% of one’s savings, assets and investments, which exceeds the nisab, and is to be distributed to the eligible recipients (snap)

Zakat al-Fitr and regular Zakat are considered necessary acts of worship in Islam, and both play an essential role in helping redistribute wealth and support those in need.


Nisab is a term used in Islamic law to refer to the minimum wealth a person must possess to be obligated to give Zakat, one of the Five Pillars of Islam. It is a threshold that must be met before an individual is required to pay Zakat.

The amount of the nisab varies depending on the type of wealth and the method of calculation used. zakat is  calculated based on the value of gold or silver and is equivalent to the weight of approximately 85 grams of gold or 595 grams of silver.

Once an individual’s wealth exceeds the nisab, they must pay 2.5% of their wealth as Zakat each year. It is important to note that Zakat is only calculated on the excess wealth beyond the nisab and not on the entire wealth.

For example, if a person has 100,000$ and the nisab is 20,000$, then he will calculate the Zakat on (100,000$ – 20,000$), which is 80,000$, the Zakat will be 2.5% from 80,000$, the Zakat will be 2000$.

Agricultural land and business inventory are calculated Za  differently.

read: How to Improve English Speaking Skills to ace the IELTS exam?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Ads Blocker Detected!!!

We have detected that you are using extensions to block ads. Please support us by disabling these ads blocker.